Kannan Ayyar’s BLOG

Live, Love, Learn, Laugh

Bombay

I mean Mumbai.  We met with Aunty Saroja and Uncle –  Smitha’s mother and Uncle !  They came to see us at the hotel and we had tea and biscuits then they took us to see their new flat.  It was great !  Modern and Clean with great construction.  They fed us way too many sweets !  Later PK uncle and his wife Chaya cam by for a Satsang and impromtu Bhajan session.  Kasey was the hit of the evening and let everyone know that he now likes Krishna better than Hanuman 🙂

August 12, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Darsan of Shirdi Baba

Shirdi Baba was a great soul who never harmed one living creature.  He lived as a hermit and survived by “alms” as a beggar.  Yet many around him realized the power and energy force that he possessed and conveyed.  Shirdi is where he lived at least 60 years of his life and is buried there in the samadhi mandir.  For over a 100 years since his death they have been doing pooja, chants, and bhajans in his name, multiple times a day to a marble idol of him in the Shirdi temple.

Of all the aarti’s the Kakad aarti (first of the morning) is the most auspicious.  It starts at 4:15 am.  The fact that I could even consider taking a six year old to Kakad aarti for Shirdi Sai is mind boggling.  The fact that I had such a mature conversation with him the whole time is unbelievable.  The fact that he asked me to buy flowers on the way to offer to Shirdi Sai is mind blowing.  We sat together through the ceremony – which for those who have never been –is basically dressing a doll, with love and devotion, while reciting chants and mantras.  I could feel Shirdi Sai’s energy and it was peaceful, tranquil, selfless and loving. I thanked him for Cunji-One and all my kids.

We got to walk right up to the idol and get a close look and feel the vibration.  We also went to the exact stone where Shirdi Baba sat nearly every day for 60 years when he was alive and offer pranams.  Kasey was amazing with his understanding and assimilating of everything we saw. I mentioned that in a past life he may have sat right in front of this very stone, he took padnamascar.

Him and Gramms continue to be best of friends and fighting like cats and dogs – in a good way if that makes sense.  We bought the bible for Shirdi Sai devotees — a book called Shri Sai Satcharita, and headed out of dodge.  Back to Bombay !

August 12, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Pilgrimmage to Shirdi…

Our trip to Shirdi was right out of a movie, –unfortunately it was a hitchcock flick.  It was a dark “monsooning” night, our driver was darker still and had the reddest eyes you could imagine.  His white outfit belied the uncleanliness of his whole being. It was 9pm in Bombay.

“You have to get us to Shirdi in six hours” I told him confidantly as if I knew the road and distance to Shirdi.

“Impossible Sir, eight hours maximum, monsoon is here” he spit out in broken english.

“You mean minimum right ? Any way I have to be there by 3:15 am you have six hours maximum”

“No sir 8 hours maximum maybe 9 hours.”

“Okay forget it just do your best, by the way there is a BIG tip for you if I am there before 3:30 am”

He understood that real well and off we went. OMG it was dark and rainy, the roads were just space between pot holes, some of the potholes were bigger than our car, and the highbeams—oh the highbeams coming at you nonstop.  I started to feel sorry for our driver and worried for our lives.  Luckily I fell asleep, and so did Cunji and Amma-Kuts.  Only to be awoken 3 hours later as we stopped on the side of the road in a pitch black area.

“What happened ?” I asked

“Flat tire sir ”  Oh great I thought we were doomed.

“Do you have a spare ?”

“Yes Sir”

 “Do you need any help ?” I asked praying for his answer to be no. My prayers were answered.  Our driver was inspiring, removing all the luggage, getting out the spare, replacing it and loading everything back up in record time in the pouring rain on the side of  a scarily busy highway in the pitch black of a moonless night.  We then went on our way.

He got us to Shirdi at 3:15 am.  Imagine that.  Mr. Sharma told us to wash up and get ready immediately for Darsan.

August 12, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Indian culture, Bhav, Bhav, Bhav

Kasey is learning Indian customs at a rapid clip.  One such custom is always offering a gift or receiving a gift with your right hand NOT your left.  Well most of you know that Kasey is left handed….So he wants to get everything with his left hand.  Why can’t I ? — he wanted to know !  I told him this was part of the culture and just to do it whether he’s left handed or not . Grandma tried to help. She explained what most Indians do with their left hand (if you don’t know – you don’t want to) he got real serious and said “I don’t want to do that with my left hand”. Too much information too fast :-).

Most of you know that Bhav can be a little absent minded.  I am now more convinced than ever that she has angels following her everywhere, we had two escapades (so far).  The first was at Bangalore airport, we were waiting for our flight to Mumbai and were getting a smoothie, I told A-K to take her carry on and one other since I had three other carry-ons. I went ahead with Kasey and we boarded the plane, as we sat down and buckled in i asked A-K where her two bags were, she said she only had one and I was to take the others.  OOPS.  I had to deboard the plane and run to the coffee shop.  There it was sitting on the bench with A-K’s purse peeking out.  I grabbed it and made it back on the plane in time. Nothing missing.

The second time was at Shirdi where after we had beautiful darsan A-K was in the room with Kase and I and she said “Where is my purse?”  I knew she brought it with her to Darsan but had no idea where she left it.  I had bought her a picture of Shirdi Sai and thought she put that in her bag and that was where she must have lost it.  Just when we were getting bent and thinking what to do there was a knock on the door.  It was the hotel security guard she left her purse in the lobby of the hotel.  WOW –saved and nothing missing.  I told her to be careful and that we should be lucky that the only thing we lost was the Shirdi picture I bought her.  No sooner than I said that but the same Security guard knocked on the door and said Sir we found this in the Lobby bathroom is it yours ?   Such is life with Bhav.

August 12, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment